Public Document Pack



Council Minutes

The minutes of the Council meeting of Wyre Borough Council held on Thursday 12 May 2022 in the Council Chamber, Civic Centre, Poulton-le-Fylde.

Council members present:

Councillors Kay, Ballard, I Amos, Lady D Atkins, Beavers, Berry, B Birch, C Birch, Bowen, Bridge, Cartridge, Catterall, Collinson, E Ellison, P Ellison, Fairbanks, Gerrard, Henderson, Holden, Ibison, Ingham, Le Marinel, Leech, Longton, McKay, Minto, Moon, Orme, O'Neill, Robinson, Smith, Stirzaker, Swales, A Turner, S Turner, Matthew Vincent, M Vincent, D Walmsley, L Walmsley, Webster and Williams

Apologies for absence:

Councillors Sir R Atkins, Baxter, Cropper, Fail, George, Raynor and A Vincent

Failed to attend or tender their apologies for absence:

Councillor Armstrong

Officers present:

Garry Payne, Chief Executive
Mark Billington, Corporate Director Environment
Clare James, Corporate Director Resources
Joanne Billington, Head of Governance and Business Support
Peter Foulsham, Democratic Services and Scrutiny Manager
Joanne Porter, Electoral Services & Information Governance Manager
Jane Collier, Human Resources Manager and Deputy Monitoring Officer
Daphne Courtenage, Assistant Democratic Services Manager
Katharine McDonnell, Senior Electoral Services Officer
Hayley McGuffie, Web and Digital Officer
Marianne Unwin, Democratic Services Officer

Also present:

Honorary Aldermen Roger Brooks and John Hodgkinson; County Councillors Alf Clempson and Matthew Salter, the Mayor's Chaplain for 2022/23, Reverend John Squires and guests of the Mayor, Deputy Mayor and the retiring Mayor.

1 Declarations of Interest

None.

2 Mayor's charities 2020/22

The Mayor for 2020/22, Councillor Kay, referred briefly to the highlights of her year in office as Mayor, and thanked all who had supported her.

She announced that she had raised money for her chosen charities as follows: Doherty's Destiny (£10,066), Men's Shed, Cleveleys (£1,500) and the Veterans' Breakfast Club (£1,500). Representatives of the three charities thanked the Mayor and all those who had contributed donations.

3 Presentation of the HMS Sheraton Trophy

The Mayor for 2020/22, Councillor Kay, presented the HMS Sheraton Trophy to Rose Brewin, a rising star who had brought pride to the borough as a result of her achievements. She had raised nearly £2,000 over the last two years for her church and Brian House. During lockdown she organised food collections, and made up 10-15 bags of food each week for her local food bank. She also undertook a wide range of other activities that were of assistance to other members of the community.

4 Election of Mayor for 2022/23 Municipal Year

The Mayor for 2020/22, Councillor Andrea Kay, invited nominations for the office of Mayor for the 2019/20 Municipal Year.

It was proposed by Councillor Alice Collinson, seconded by Councillor Lynne Bowen and agreed unanimously that Councillor Julie Robinson be elected to the office of Mayor of the Borough of Wyre for the Municipal Year 2022/23.

The outgoing Mayor for 2020/22, Councillor Andrea Kay, retired from the Chair which was then taken by Councillor Julie Robinson, who signed the declaration of acceptance of office.

Councillor Robinson thanked the Council for electing her as Mayor. She said it would be an honour to serve the Borough in that role. She announced that the Mayor's Charities for 2022/23 would be SANDS, a stillbirth and neonatal death charity, Blood Bikes, a voluntary service that provided the transportation of urgent and emergency items, and Men's Shed (Over Wyre).

Mr Richard Robinson was invested as the Mayor's Consort for 2022/23.

5 Retiring Mayor

Councillor Phil Orme made a brief speech thanking the retiring Mayor. Councillor Paul Moon then formally proposed and Councillor Henderson seconded a vote of thanks to the retiring Mayor. It was agreed unanimously that the thanks of the Council be tendered to Councillor Andrea Kay for the valuable services which she had rendered to the Borough during her term of office as Mayor.

The Mayor, Councillor Robinson, presented Past Mayor's Badges to Councillors Ann Turner and Andrea Kay, Badges of Office of Past Mayoress

to Councillors Andrea Kay and Ann Turner and Past Consort Badge to Councillor Phil Orme.

6 Election of Deputy Mayor for 2022/23 Municipal Year

The Mayor, Councillor Julie Robinson, invited nominations for the office of Deputy Mayor for the 2022/23 Municipal Year.

It was proposed by Councillor Paul Moon, seconded by Councillor Peter Le Marinel and agreed unanimously that Councillor Sue Catterall be elected to the office of Deputy Mayor of the Borough of Wyre for the Municipal Year 2022/23. Councillor Catterall signed the declaration of acceptance of office.

The Deputy Consort for 2022/23, Mr Steve Mothersdale, was invested with his Chain of Office.

The Mayor presented Past Deputy Mayor's and Mayoress Badges to Councillors Howard Ballard, Barry Birch and Colette Birch.

7 Mayor's Communications

The Chief Executive, Garry Payne, said that a number of emails and cards had been received from well-wishers congratulating Councillor Robinson on her appointment and he read out several of the messages.

The Mayor, Councillor Robinson, announced that the Youth Mayor for 2022/23 was Hannah Mullin, who was invested with her Badge of Office.

8 Appointments to Committees, Panels and Groups 2022/23

Councillor David Henderson, leader of the Council and Garry Payne, Chief Executive submitted a report.

Agreed, unanimously:

- 1 That all the current Committees, Panels and Groups be reappointed for 2022/23, with the same number of places on each and with the same membership as in 2021/22 except:
 - (a) That Councillor Paul Ellison be appointed to the Licensing Committee in place of Councillor Robinson;
 - (b) That Councillor Andrea Kay be appointed to the Overview and Scrutiny Committee in place of the late Councillor Rita Amos;
 - (c) That Councillor Andrea Kay be appointed to the Planning Committee in place of the late Councillor Rita Amos;
 - (d) That Councillor Ibison be appointed to the Audit Committee in place of the late Councillor Rita Amos;

- (e) That Councillor Smith be appointed to the Employment and Appeals Committee in place of Councillor Swales;
- (f) That Councillor Beavers be appointed to the Licensing Committee in place of Councillor Armstrong;
- (g) That Councillor Swales be appointed to the Councillor Development Group in place of Councillor Beavers;
- (h) That Councillor Raynor be appointed to the Planning Policy Group in place of Councillor Beavers.
- 2 That Councillor Berry be re-appointed as the Wyre Council representative on the Police and Crime Panel for Lancashire for 2022/23.
- 3 That, in the event of Wyre being asked to nominate a second representative to the Police and Crime Panel for Lancashire for 2022/23, Councillor Peter Le Marinel be appointed.
- 4 That Mike Nuttall be appointed as an Independent Person, in line with the requirements of the Localism Act 2011.

The meeting started at 7.00 pm and finished at 7.59 pm.

Date of Publication: 13 May 2022